Transient Glory, the groundbreaking new music commissioning series created in 2001 by Artistic Director Francisco J. Núñez for the Young People’s Chorus of New York City, returned this fall with six world premieres, representing a wide range of perspectives and styles from composers Mason Bates, Michael Gordon, Joan La Barbara, Jessie Montgomery, Robert Xavier Rodriguez, and Charles Wuorinen.

Watch Composer Interviews

Explore The Music

Special Thanks

Special thanks to Howard Gilman Foundation, ASCAP Foundation Irving Caesar Fund, Alice Ditson Fund of Columbia University, the Aaron Copland Fund for Music and Amphion Foundation for their generous support of Transient Glory. The program is also supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs and the New York State Council on the Arts, with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.

Read Reviews and Features

[The New York Times] Review: For This Young Chorus, It’s Never Too Early for Six World Premieres

Even professional contemporary-music ensembles don’t often perform six world premieres on a single night. But on Friday at National Sawdust in Brooklyn, some 90 teenagers between the ages of 14 and 18 did just that. The excellent Young People’s Chorus of New York City presented the next installment of Transient Glory, its program that commissions composers to write challenging works for young voices.

Young People's Chorus Premieres New Works of 'Transient Glory' on November 4 & 6

The Young People's Chorus of New York City will premiere six new choral works as part of their continuing Transient Glory concert series in a pair of performances on Friday, Nov. 4, and Sunday, Nov. 6. Friday's display will occur at Brooklyn venue National Sawdust at 7 p.m.; Sunday's show takes place at the Merkin Concert Hall in Manhattan, also with a 7 p.m. starting time.

I Care If You Listen's 5 Questions to Francisco Núñez

MacArthur Fellow Francisco Núñez founded the Young People’s Chorus of New York City in 1988 with a two-fold mission of artistic excellence and diversity. 29 years later, YPC is internationally renowned, serving over 1,400 students of all backgrounds from neighborhoods all over the city each year and continuing to add to its portfolio of more than 100 works for youth chorus commissioned from today’s best known composers.

View Performance Photos